Manage group members and admins
To get to group settings, open the group chat and tap the group name at the top.
Adding members
On the group info screen, tap Add member and select the people. To invite people via a link, see Group invite link.
To also send the group’s older messages to the people you’re adding, turn on the Message history switch while adding them. The switch starts off every time; when it’s on, you confirm with Add and share history.
Removing members or making someone an admin
- On the group info screen, tap the person in the member list.
- Choose one of the options:
- Make admin or Remove from admin
- Remove from group
Only group admins can do these things. Group permissions determine whether members can add members themselves.
Sending message history to a new member
You can also send someone who joined after you the messages from before they joined:
- On the group info screen, tap the person in the member list.
- Select Send message history and confirm with Send.
This option appears if the person wasn’t added when the group was created and hasn’t already been sent the history. Admins can always send it; other members can if Send message history is on in Group permissions.
When it’s sent, a line appears in the group saying who sent the message history to whom. The new member taps Get messages on that line; once the messages arrive, View takes them to the oldest transferred message. Messages are copied from the sender’s device, or from other members’ devices if the sender’s device isn’t connected at the moment. If there are no older messages, they see that there are no older messages to show.
Last updated: October 30, 2026
Did this answer your question?
Thanks for your feedback.
Sorry about that. Check the related articles below or browse other topics.