Group permissions
Group admins can choose what members are allowed to change in the group.
- Open the group chat and tap the group name.
- Tap Group permissions.
Members can
- Can edit group settings: The group name, icon, and description.
- Can edit message settings: Settings such as disappearing messages and pinning messages.
- Send new messages: If turned off, only admins can send messages; useful for announcement groups.
- Can add other members
- Invite via link
- Send message history: Members can send older messages to people added to the group. When it’s off, only admins can. It’s off by default in new groups.
- Edit user details: For now, this covers adding a member tag. When it’s off, only admins can add a member tag, and only their tags are shown.
Admins can
- Can approve new members: When on, people who want to join via the link wait for an admin’s approval; see Group invite link.
To change the admin list, tap Edit group admins.
Flowsy AI
- Flowsy AI in this chat: When on, members can ask questions in the group with @Flowsy AI and suitable processes are suggested. Only admins can change this setting; see Add or remove Flowsy AI in a chat.
Last updated: October 27, 2026
Did this answer your question?
Thanks for your feedback.
Sorry about that. Check the related articles below or browse other topics.